What are Otixo Workspaces?
Workspaces are virtual collaborative "projects" where you can attach folders from any of your cloud services and then share them with colleagues, clients and family members.
What makes Otixo Workspaces unique?
- You can create and manage projects without having to move your files from their original cloud services.
- Everyone that you share your Workspace with can also contribute items without having to upload files to your account. Each collaborator's files stays where they are, but are accessible by Workspace members.
If I share a workspace, do people know where I store my files?
No. When you share a workspace with a collaborator, they cannot see which service hosts those files, they only see the workspace in their Otixo account.
Are the files I put in Workspaces copied from my cloud services?
No. The folders you attach to your Workspace are only links to the items in your source cloud service (like Dropbox, Google Docs, Box, FTP, etc.). Otixo never stores your files on its servers. Workspaces are just virtual structures for your content which can come from many different cloud service providers.
If I share a Workspace, do my collaborators need an Otixo account?
Yes. In order to see and access files in a Workspace, all collaborators need to register for an Otixo account.
When I share a workspace, can my collaborators delete my files?
No. When you share a Workspace, your collaborators can only preview and download the files. Operations like delete, rename and upload are restricted so they cannot modify the files and folders that you own.
How do the people I share my Workspace with (collaborators) upload files?
Your collaborators can put files and folders in your workspace by adding their own cloud services to Otixo and then attaching them to the workspace. Uploading files directly to your folders is currently prohibited so that you have greater control over the access to them.